Sunday, February 13, 2011

Brother Cadfael Mystery Series

Medieval Mysteries

I recently saw where the Brother Cadfael mysteries series has been released on DVD.  After watching the series on TV I read and loved all of the Brother Cadfael books.  The books were written by Ellis Peters.  Some of the books are still in print but other are only available used.

Brother Cadfael is a monk in 12th century England.  He came to the monastery late in life.  He was a soldier in the Crusades, has traveled the world and there have been women he loved in his life.  As a monk his spends his time growing herbs and treating the sick and injured.  Because of his background he is more in touch with the problems of the people outside the monastery and is quick to offer his help, sometimes to a couple in love and sometimes to solve a murder.

The books have a great cast of characters.  Cadfael is assisted by a novice Oswin, hindered by his abbey’s prior, and often assists the local sheriff, Hugh Beringar.  They also offer a look at life in a time very different from our own.

I have always enjoyed mysteries set in medieval times.  Reading the article about Brother Cadfael sent me to the library looking for other mysteries set in this time period.  Watch for my next three post to see what I found.

The Brother Cadfael Books in order of Publication are:

A Morbid Taste for Bones
One Corpse Too Many
Monk's Hood
St. Peter's Fair
The Leper of St. Giles
The Virgin in the Ice
The Sanctuary Sparrow
The Devil's Novice
Dead Man's Ransom
The Pilgrim of Hate
An Excellent Mystery
The Raven in the Foregate
The Rose Rent
The Hermit of Eyton Forest
The Confession of Brother Haluin
The Heretic's Apprentice
A Rare Benedectine
The Potter's Field
The Summer of the Danes
The Holy Thief
Brother Cadfael's Penance

No comments:

Post a Comment

I am a reward free zone but I love comments. If you like my post enough to comment consider becoming a follower. Comment Moderation is on so I do not have to use word verification to keep spam out.