Wednesday, July 22, 2009

And Only to Deceive by Tasha Alexander


And Only to Deceive is the first book in a mystery series set in Victorian England. Lady Emily Ashton was widowed after only six month of marriage when her husband Philip died while on Safari in Africa. Since she only married Philip to escape her mother she is less than heartbroken. After a required year of mourning she enters the year of half-mourning and begins to accept visitors. Imagine her surprise when her late husband's best friend comes to call because he has promised to make arrangements for Emily to visit Philip's villa in Greece. In the conservation mentions how Philip was very in love with her. As they talk she realizes that she did not know her husband at all. In an effort to understand the husband she largely ignored Emily starts reading Philip’s journals and discovers things about her husband she never guessed. Some of her discoveries lead to a mystery she feels she must solve.

And Only to Deceive is gentle mystery with a realistic historical background. Each chapter starts with an entry from one of Philip’s journals. We follow Emily on a path of self-discovery and it is fun to watch her grow. With the exception of her Mother who only wants Emily to marry again, the other characters are well drawn and add to the historical background. I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.

Harper published And Only to Deceive by Tasha Alexander in 2006.

The other books in the series are:
A Poison Season - 2008
A Fatal Waltz - 2008
Tears of Pearl will be released in September of 2009

No comments:

Post a Comment

I am a reward free zone but I love comments. If you like my post enough to comment consider becoming a follower. Comment Moderation is on so I do not have to use word verification to keep spam out.