Monday, February 20, 2017

Asmodeus by Brooks Hansen - Review Tour and Giveaway



Asmodeus: The Legend of Margrét and the Dragon
by Brooks Hansen

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Romantic Historical Fiction

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:


…Here again, his natural figure crouched beside her in the dank darkness of the cave, watching her in silence as she slept, struggling with cravings which were new to him, both tender and violent, and which he could only really compare to hunger… (from ASMODEUS)

On the cusp of the Great War, an even more pitched battle is waged in the furthest corner of the Nordic highlands, the final chapter of a centuries-old rivalry, pitting a troubled bloodline of thieves, journeyman, and politicians against the last and greatest dragon of the hemisphere, Asmodeus.

Until now, the source of this antagonism has been a single gemstone, the fabled shamir, whose history traces to the coffers of King Solomon. The present clash, however, has been sparked by the emergence of an even more desirable, more defiant, and more powerful force than that.

Inspired by the golden legend of St. Margaret, Brooks Hansen’s Asmodeus is a masterfully woven tapestry of history, myth, and fantasy, in the tradition of J.R.R.Tolkien, Bram Stoker, and C.S. Lewis. By turns a romance, an adventure, and the darkest imaginable Gothic, his tale is also, as seen through the eyes of the maiden Margrét, an unflinching exploration of our divided nature — what makes us beasts, what makes us human, and what makes us divine.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~


REVIEW:

Asmodeus weaves a story that seems to be set in both the past and the present.  Asmodeusu is the last of the dragons and Margret is a figure from both legend and fantasy.  The characters moved the story from one place to another as Asmodeus searches for the jewel that was stolen from him years ago.  It seems that the jewel is at the heart of the plot but Margret plays a more important part as the story progresses.  The characters, plot and setting kept my attention.  I did not know what to expect from one page to the next and I got a surprise at the end.  A nice blend of history, fantasy and myth.

Asmodeus
~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT

His golden eyes flicked open, blinked, and narrowed to a squint as he finally lifted up his great, horned head. He shrugged the veil of wings. He uncoiled from his most precious gem and lumbered upward, following the airborne trail up through the high tunnel to the opening just beside the cataract.

Only his muzzle appeared at first, shining like tar in the slanting sunlight, but even that merest of appearances stirred notice among the hovering hawks and vultures: Look. Be warned and wary. The master had awakened.

His head slid further out, taking in the day. The clouds had lifted. The sky was polished glass, but the familiar whisper was still there, coming from below. Down on the near shore of the inlet was a scuttled boat. Again his eyes narrowed, trying to figure from the tides just how long ago the wreck had occurred, and whether its victims were still on premise. He hoped not. Men had their place, but it wasn’t here.

…He crawled further out onto the ledge and extended his neck toward the curtain of water, which was fuller today than usual, gushing down from the mountains after all that rain. He helped himself to several gulps. He let the bracing cold beat on his head a while, then shook free with a glistening, majestic explosion, lifted his wings and leapt. He glided most of the way down, turning three wide circles in the crux of the fjord, his great spanned shadow dashing along the cliff-side, flicking across the cataract, then across the blue surface below, around and up and around again three times before finally re-meeting him, claw to claw, on the strand beside the boat...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

BROOKS HANSEN is an author, screenwriter, essayist, and teacher. His novels – THE MONSTERS OF ST. HELENA, PERLMAN’S ORDEAL, THE CHESS GARDEN, and BOONE (co-authored with Nick Davis) were all New York Times Notable Books. THE CHESS GARDEN was also selected as a PW Best Book of the Year in 1995. He has written one book for Young Readers, CAESAR’S ANTLERS, which he also illustrated. In 2009 he released his first memoir, THE BROTHERHOOD OF JOSEPH, and in 2005 he received a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship for his most recent book, JOHN THE BAPTIZER, which was published in 2009 by W.W. Norton. More recently, his fiction appeared in CENTRAL PARK: AN ANTHOLOGY (Bloomsbury USA, 2012), and he has an essay slated to appear in another upcoming anthology THE GOOD BOOK (Simon & Schuster, 2015).


Brooks Hansen is the critically acclaimed author of The Chess Garden and 7 other books, most recently Asmodeus: The Legend of Margret and the Dragon. He has recently launched his own imprint, Star Pine Books. He lives in Carpinteria, California with his wife and children.

Website link is brookshansen.com


~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION

Brooks will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Be sure to visit the other tour sites for further information and chances to win.

January 30Long and Short Reviews
February 6The Avid Reader
February 6Natural Bri 
February 13Two Ends of the Pen
February 13Deep In the Crease
February 20Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!
February 20Mixed Book Bag

8 comments:

  1. Congrats on the tour and thanks for the chance to win :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. thanks for sharing this book with us, I'm looking forward to reading it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like a good read. Thanks for the giveaway chance.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I enjoyed the book. Did not know what to expect and it kept me guessing. Great to have you visit the blog today.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for the excerpt. It looks like a good read. I hope that I win. Bernie W BWallace1980(at)hotmail(d0t)com

    ReplyDelete

I am a reward free zone but I love comments. If you like my post enough to comment consider becoming a follower. Comment Moderation is on so I do not have to use word verification to keep spam out.